No more ducky after-taste

duckI’ve only had duck a few times in my life. I tried peking duck once and didn’t like it, but felt that as a card-carrying foodie, it was a cuisine I was required to like. So I tried it again but as It turns out, I just don’t like duck. I can’t really put my finger on why, but I think it might be the after-taste it leaves in my mouth. I guess you could describe it as “fowl”.

Even though it  has died down, I feel like this DD/A&E controversy has left a bad-taste in almost everyone’s mouth and left many people crying “foul”. Planting myself firmly on the fence, I can understand all sides of this debate. Even though the scandal has been handled, some of us feel like we can’t stop burping up duck.

Some people find it distasteful that A&E flipped the heavily scripted script and caved into special interest groups thereby alienating a huge segment of their viewing population. I personally felt that setting Robertson up as the face of Christian persecution, greatly diminished the plight of people who are actually being persecuted for their faith (I just got off the fence for a minute).

Others feel as though the scenario only widened the already gaping divide between –

  • Liberals and Republicans
  • Religious and Non-religious
  • Black and White

Freedom of speech, human rights, religious freedom, censorship and greed were brought to everyone’s collective consciousness. I hope all of us are more self-aware regardless of where we stand on a particular matter.

I leave you with these two quotes.

Abuse of words has been the greatest instrument of sophistry and chicanery, of party, faction and division of society. John Adams

Taste and see that the Lord is good. (Psalm 34:8)

(PS – I think I’ll have chicken for lunch)

Leave a Reply

